There are 3 different minimum wage programs that govern wages at the University:
California Minimum Wage (Student Wages)
California Minimum Wage - Effective January 1, 2017 - $10.50/hr (soon to be $11.00/hr on 1-1-18)
Although UCSB is governed by Federal Law, we choose to adhere to the California State Minimum Wage provisions in order to remain competitive as an employer. Our Student Assistant positions begin at a rate equal to the California Minimum Wage. The following is a schedule of the minimum wage changes in the future:
January 1, 2022 - $15.00/hr
January 1, 2021 - $14.00/hr
January 1, 2020 - $13.00/hr
January 1, 2019 - $12.00/hr
January 1, 2018 - $11.00/hr - coming soon!
January 1, 2017 - $10.50/hr (current)
January 1, 2016 - $10.00/hr
July 1, 2014 - $9.00/hr
Federal Minimum Wage (effective July 2009) = $7.25/hour
California State Minimum Wage (effective January 2017) = $10.50/hour
UCSB Minimum Wage for Student Assistants (effective January 2017) = $10.50/hour
Student Assistant I (tc 4922) Salary Range = $10.50 - $35.00/hr
For more information about Student Employment, refer to the Student Employment Guidelines located on the Employment page under "Useful Links".
UC Fair Wage/Fair Work Program
UC Fair Wage / Fair Work Program - Effective October 1, 2017 - $15.00/hr
The UC Fair Wage/Fair Work Plan is a minimum wage plan that guarantees all UC employees (career, partial year career, limited, and contract) appointed at 50% or more will be paid at least $15 per hour by October 2017. For an overview of the program, please visit the UC Net site at http://ucnet.universityofcalifornia.edu/compensation-and-benefits/fairwage/index.html (link is external).
Federal Contractors Minimum Wage
Federal Contractors Minimum Wage - Effective January 1, 2017 - $10.20/hr
On February 12, 2014, then President Obama signed Executive Order 13658, "Establishing a Minimum Wage for Contractors" to raise the minimum to $10.10/hr for all workers on Federal construction and service contracts, including those affiliated with the University of California. That minumum was then raised to $10.20/hr effective January 1, 2017.