New Employee Orientation

Tuesday, June 6 2017
Tuesday, June 20 2017
Wednesday, July 5 2017
Tuesday, July 18 2017
Tuesday, August 1 2017
Tuesday, August 15 2017
Tuesday, September 5 2017
Tuesday, September 19 2017
Tuesday, October 3 2017
Tuesday, October 17 2017
Tuesday, November 7 2017
Tuesday, November 21 2017
Tuesday, December 5 2017
Tuesday, December 19 2017
Tuesday, January 2 2018
9:00am to 4:00pm
HR Learning Center, SAASB 3101DD
NEW EMPLOYEE ORIENTATION

New Employee Orientation (NEO) welcomes new employees and employees with longer-service who just recently became eligible for UC benefits. NEO provides an introduction to UCSB and important information about the University of California, history and culture of UCSB, policies and procedures, training and development opportunities, services and resources available to employees, workplace protections and responsibilities, health and welfare benefits, retirement programs, and more.

All new employees should attend New Employee Orientation as soon as possible following their date of hire. New staff members have 31 days from their first day at work to enroll in UC benefits. Faculty have a second 31-day period of eligibility that begins on their first day on campus. Employees who are newly eligible for benefits have 31 days from their new effective date to enroll in benefits.

Postdoctoral Scholars - Please refer to the Benefits section of this website for enrollment and benefits information, as your program is different from the information presented at NEO.

New Employee Orientation – an instructor-led presentation in UCSB Human Resources

When

First and Third Tuesday of each month

Time

9:00 – 4:00

Where

Human Resources Learning Center (SAASB 3101DD)
on the third floor of Student Affairs & Administrative Services Building

Agenda

9:00-9:50

Welcome, UC and UCSB Overview, Policies and Training HR Staff
9:50-10:05 Break  
10:05-10:25 Ethics in the Workplace Business & Financial Services Staff
10:25-10:50 Safety in the Workplace Environmental Health & Safety Staff
10:50-11:30 Professional Development, Campus Services and Resources HR Staff

11:30-12:00

 

 

12:00-1:00

Teamsters/Clericals Presentation or Campus Self-Guided Tour

 

Lunch Break

Union Reps
1:00-3:15 Benefits HR Staff
3:15-3:30 Break

 

3:30-4:00 Retirement

HR Staff